May 1933

US and World Events plus Additional Resources


On May 12, 1933, President Roosevelt signed into law three pieces of New Deal legislation:

the Federal Emergency Relief Act to fund public works projects around the nation;

the Agricultural Adjustment Act to raise farm income by limiting agricultural production;

and the Emergency Farm Mortgage Act to extend repayment schedules and offer emergency financing for those behind on loan payments.